ThinkKit D30: Consultation is a necessary step.

ThinkKit asked me today to identify one step I can take to support a goal I have for 2013, which is to significantly expand my private practice.  My business has been growing, but more would be better.  I’ll admit, I get a bit nervous thinking about adding ten more clients to my caseload, as it seems like emotional overload to my personal well-being.  If I’m going to stay on the top of my therapist game and not become a wreck in my life, I have to figure out how to not be vicariously traumatized by all that my job requires me to hold.   I’ve started to do so by participating in a consultation group with other therapists and honing my skills within a trauma-informed framework.

To build my practice further though, I’m going to need even more support.  So, a step I plan to take is to schedule more frequent consultation with my mentor.  Sure, this will be an added expense off of my bottom line, but I truly believe the skills I’ll gain will come back around and lead to higher quality and quantity for my business.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment